Bucket List Update

I tried to pick a song that embodies my mood at the moment. I think this pretty much sums it up. (Plus drag queens and feminist lyrics. Win WIN.)

As we’re nearing the half way point of the year, I figured now would be a good time to do a little Bucket List update and reflect on all the things I’ve achieved so far.

I’m currently sitting in my bestie’s house in London having a day to myself while she’s at work. Usually when I come on these London trips I rush around to see as many people as I can in the 2-3 days that I am here, but as life has been so hectic recently, I decided it would be better to take this weekend more slowly and spend some time alone celebrating my personal victories from the past six months.

I honestly can’t get over how much has changed since I wrote this list in January. I am a completely different person to the girl who was still living at her mum’s house, struggling with self-confidence and had no idea who she was. I have blossomed and grown in the past six months more than I can remember doing at any other point in my life. And that’s so, so exciting.

IMG_8822[1]

Josie and I at the end of year LGBT ball.

I’ve been semi-documenting some of the things I’ve achieved since January via my Bucket List. It’s the first time that I’ve written one of these things and it’s actually gone to plan. I’ve managed to make it challenging enough that I don’t breeze through it all in a week, but also fun enough that when I am pushed outside of my comfort zone, I’ve had a good time doing it. The updated list is linked throughout this post but I’ll also put it here for good measure:

  1. Complete my second year of university (7th June)
  2. Move out (28th February)
  3. Go to a live performance/event at least once a month (e.g. a gig, comedy show, live recording, play, poetry reading etc.)
    • Guilty Feminist live podcast recording (23rd January)
    • Tessa Violet (8th February)
    • Vagina Monologues (9th February)
    • Sofie Hagen live comedy show recording (13th February)
    • Dodie and Rusty Clanton (17th March)
    • Felicity Ward at Manchester Comedy Store (30th March)
    • Guilty Feminist live podcast recording (8th April)
    • Hannah Witton – Doing It Live (13th April)
    • Driftwood (14th April)
    • Rent 20th Anniversary Tour (22nd April)
    • Guilty Feminist Big Speeches workshop (23rd April)
    • Manchester Tattoo Appeal Fundraiser (28th May)
    • Sarah Millican at Manchester Comedy Store (11th June)
  4. Do the longest zip line in Europe
  5. Go on at least one big trip. (Mexico booked from 29th August – 20th September)
  6. Visit Chichen Itza
  7. Start learning a new language FOR FUN
  8. Do not let fear stop you from saying yes to a new experience (14th June)
  9. Do not let fear stop you from saying no to something you don’t want to do (12th June)
  10. Start writing my first book (like actually, properly get your shit together and write some chapters rather than having ideas all over the show)
  11. Do at least one thing you never thought you’d be able to do
  12. Edit and share at least two past travel vlogs
  13. Try a new food/dish every month. Make sure it’s something you never thought you’d eat or maybe even like.
  14. Go to a restaurant and ask the waiter to bring you whatever their favourite dish is
  15. Do something that scares you (15th March)
  16. Kiss a girl at Pride
  17. Pick a new cause and start donating to it (10th June). On 30th June I also started giving to Bloody Good Period, which is an incredible charity that I encourage you to check out.
  18. Go on a solo travel trip and spend your time doing all the things you love
  19. Read at least five feminist books
  20. Visit two new countries

Due to the challenges I’ve set myself, I’ve already been to nine* thirteen live events (*I originally wrote that I’d forgotten some… I had), tried so much new food I can barely remember it all and faced a number of fears, such as quitting my job, deleting Facebook and getting an STI check (I’m more terrified of needles than anything else ever but they are still super important even if you don’t think you’ve got anything!). I’ve moved out, which has allowed me so many freedoms, one of my favourites being the control I now have over my diet and getting to be creative in the kitchen for the first in ages. It has also proved to me that I can successfully look after myself, which is a big deal after having to move home for so long.

IMG_8714[1]

Gord and I proving that we can adult with a bit of pre-exam self-care.

Plus I FINISHED MY SECOND YEAR OF UNIVERSITY (again). My second second year, if you will. I mean I didn’t need this list to make me do that, but the goal and determination was always in my mind and I have been so excited to tick that one off. I’m unbelievably chuffed with the progress I’ve made academically, because as a proud nerdy geek person, losing my ability to perform well in academia was particularly difficult for me to handle when I was ill. So getting back that ability, and being able to perform better than I ever have before, means the world to me.

IMG_8835[1]

The gang at the end of year ball. I’m so lucky to know these beautiful, inspiring ladies.

As for the things I’m yet to cross off, some are in progress. Some are due to happen within the next few months. Some I have absolutely no idea when or if they will happen, but I’m going to try my best. I know I usually don’t mind not sticking to things 100% but as commitment is a big fear of mine that I’m trying to face in a variety of ways at the moment, I really want to get this finished to prove to myself that I can set a goal and actually follow it through. Something tells me I’m going to regret this when it comes to December and I still have two countries to visit and a book to write but OH WELL. I’ll deal with that when it comes up.

Leave a Reply

