Mental Health Awareness Week ’17

This week is Mental Health Awareness Week and due to the fact that I’ve taken a huge step back from social media recently, I’ve managed to miss the first two days of it. So that’s a good start. Last year, I did a post every day of the week, each one exploring a different aspect of mental health that I’ve personally experienced, specifically those that are commonly misunderstood. Despite missing the beginning of the week, I intend to do a similar thing again this year, and if I’m feeling extra ambitious I’ll do an extra two next week to make up those I’ve missed.

So, what has changed since last year? So. Effing. Much.

I’m a million times better than I ever had been. I no longer struggle with agoraphobia, a lot of my old self care rules are now second nature and today, during what was potentially my last therapy session, and cried with happiness when it dawned on me how far I’ve come. I’m happy. Really, genuinely happy, for the first time in years and that’s all down to me; to my commitment to recovery and absolute resilience to get through whatever unpleasant situations life has thrown at me along the way. And oh boy, have there been some serious challenges.

That’s not to say that I no longer have mental health related problems to grapple with, just that I’ve got a whole lot better at beating them. My confidence has sky-rocketed and my anxiety has decreased, yet my panic attacks and PTSD are ever present. I get triggered relatively regularly and it still sucks when it happens, but I’m working very hard at not letting it control my life. Who knows, one day this might be gone too, but right now I’m learning how to live with this ongoing disorder that I don’t yet feel confident enough to face head on.

But apart from that, things are great. During recovery, I never saw myself getting this far, and I hope to share some things this week that can inspire others to keep going no matter how hard it gets.

“If you’re going through hell, keep going*” – Winston Churchill

(*because it’s fucking worth it – Me)

As it’s taken me a little by surprise, I’ll keep today’s post short to give me time to draft some ideas for the posts to follow. For the time being, here’s the links to last years posts for you to have a look at:

The Importance of Understanding

Panic

Agoraphobia

Head Fog and Therapy

Self Care

25 Things That Make Me Anxious

Thank-you

If you have any questions or requests of topics you’d like me to explore, feel free to get in touch!

Leave a Reply

